I almost lost my job this week. Awesome.
Some twit- let's call her Dingbat McLazyass- showed up at noon Tuesday. A coworker walked her to my desk, telling me at THAT moment I was to train Dingbat.
Whaaaaa??
I honestly thought for a moment that another coworker, who had trained me into my position before I built it up, was being replaced as she happened to be out that day. Later, I was to find she'd been ill. Anyway, I started getting a feel for Dingbat, and learned she knows no medical terminology, has no clue what any tests are, and said she could Google whatever she doesn't understand. Because you know you'd be confident about going to a clinic where its staff had to Google every other word you said. "Ummm, waaaiiit, I need to see what a 'mammogram' is..."
Yeah... THAT unqualified.
And she was to take over MY position, I soon learned. BALLZ of so many sorts!!
Granted, I'm a temp, and not related to anyone on the rez, so I'm disposable. But to be replaced by THAT?!?!?!?! My head hurt within five minutes of training Dingbat. I almost YouTubed an episode of Sesame Street to build her up to the average high school diploma level.
One of the first things she said was that she got the job because she was transferred semi-randomly from her previous position... after declining to sign an agreement that she would abstain from drugs and alcohol while employed. That's a GREAT sign, btw... especially when you work with a population who is massively dealing with substance abuse issues. On the first and second days of her new job, she vanished CONSTANTLY for hours on end if I started teaching anything or asked her to look up a big, scary word... like "arthroscopic..." or "referral..."
Anyway, long story short, this chick totally started snapping at me during training by the second day, which pretty much cheered me up. Can you say, "job security?" Yeahh... by the third day, she was eager to be anywhere BUT at my desk. Sweet. I think my job is safe... for now.
The worst part?......
.....I'm pretty sure she gets paid more than I. Sick and wrong.
Thursday, January 14, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment