Venty Search!

Custom Search

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

State of DisUnion

I'm watching the State of the Union address, and have noticed some things:


1. It's hilarious watching Biden and Pelosi try to decide if they should give a standing ovation at every point President Obama makes.
2. It is also apparently known within the chambers that if Obama talks about something awesome in which a specific person or group was directly involved, they are not to be the first person/people to applaud themselves. I was watching for anyone to stand promptly for their own good deed, though. "YEAHH! Obama says I'm AWESOME!!"
3. I totally saw the dad from the Clueless series in the audience during the last 20 minutes. Put "seat filler" on his resume.



K, Gov. Bob McDonnell, for the Republican Hot Air... I mean, Response... Yeah, the stimulus last year promised extra jobs, and it delivered... in certain areas. The jobs that were LOST were usually ones that were not part of the sectors that gained jobs. Some companies merely held on to their employees as long as humanly possible prior to letting them go out of financial desperation. Durr.


Also, here's another issue: More companies are hiring temps instead of permanent employees. When a person was unemployed for months, or beyond a year, they have more likelihood of being hired as a temp than by shining in a job interview. A person with fantastic credentials and job performance, let go for budget issues, will be overlooked for someone who has been much more recently employed. Soo... they go the temp route. Then, the temps are let go, rehired elsewhere, etc, until a place hopefully retains them permanently.


Not like I know of this directly. Noooo... Kinda skews the numbers.


And regarding another thing he mentioned: Our healthcare system is soooo not the best in the world. Eww.


Pay anything less than $100/month for insurance for your kid, and you still usually have a minimum $1000 deductible, plus likely some crazy copays and coinsurances. Sooo many jobs require people to pay $300-ish per month to add even a single dependent. 


Yeah... plus half the people who work in medical billing are morons, and half in insurance processing are also of the moronic variety, so THAT is why your claim gets denied for something stupid, like when some doofus billed you as having female breast cancer when you're a GUY (yes, there are different, standardized codes for that), or because they said you're the subscriber on a plan when you're really a spouse or dependent. All YOU hear is that your claim was denied by your insurance... not why, most of the time. This applies to private insurance, as well as Medicare and Medicaid.


Yeah. Best healthcare system in the world.


OMG, and he's talking more about how healthcare is peachy and all, but individual Americans helping each other is even more spiffy?


REALLY?


Yeah, he tried tying that to Haiti, but way to basically tell people that if the government can't help, you better rely on your neighbor. Ha. Because your neighbor better be a cardiologist who does house calls... and has plenty of hand sanitizer available.

No comments:

Post a Comment